top of page
Writer's pictureLauren Unzen

Packing for Long Term Travel

Updated: Dec 30, 2023

There is no perfect packing list, especially for long term travel; everyone has different wants, needs, and preferences for items to bring along. Creating a packing list, especially when leaving for an indefinite period of time, is difficult to say the least! From prior travel experience and lots of research of what other long term travelers have packed or suggested, I was able to narrow down what I am bringing with me. When packing I tried to keep in mind that if I forgot something or if I was unsure of an item I could always purchase it while traveling and if it is not available somewhere then that means millions of other people are able to live without this item so I can too.

Bags/Backpacks

  • Osprey Farpoint 40-Liter Backpack

  • The North Face Surge II Backpack

  • Fanny Pack

My Osprey backpack will serve as my main backpack where I will be carrying all of my clothes, shoes, swimwear, and a few other miscellaneous items. I will use The North Face backpack as my front pack to carry the majority of my smaller items and technology. This may be crazy for some people to understand, but even though I am only taking two backpacks, it still feels as if I am overpacking.


Following is a list of everything I am packing for my trip. Along the way, I will update you on what is working for me and what I should have taken along.


Clothes

  • 5 short sleeve shirts

  • 1 long sleeve shirt

  • 1 light zip-up hoodie

  • 3 lightweight shorts

  • 2 lightweight pants

  • 1 pair of leggings

  • 1 cami top

  • 1 lightweight scarf, this can be used as either a light shawl on buses or trains or for modesty at any religious sites

  • 1 regular bra

  • 2 sports bras

  • Multiple pairs of underwear, I am a big fan of packing light, however underwear is one of the things that I find fully acceptable to overpack

  • 1 set of pajamas, for my pajama top I chose one that could also double as a normal day shirt

  • 1 pair of sandals

  • 1 pair of tennis shoes

  • 1 pair of shower flip flops, I need shower flip flops because I will primarily be staying in hostels

  • 2 swimsuit tops

  • 1 swimsuit bottom


Technology and Electronics

  • Cell phone, I will be using my phone as my only camera

  • Laptop

  • Laptop charger

  • 2 phone chargers, I am taking a long 10-foot cord because you never know where the closest outlet may be and a shorter cord for my portable charger

  • 2 portable battery packs

  • 1 USB converter

  • 1 converter that works with my laptop charger

  • 1 external hard drive, for backing up all my photos and videos

  • Earbuds


Personal Care Items

  • Toothbrush and toothpaste

  • Hairbrush

  • Hair Ties

  • 1 pair of sunglasses

  • An extra pair of glasses

  • Glasses cleaning cloth and spray

  • Contacts and contact solution

  • Makeup

  • Q-tips

  • Nail clippers

  • Tweezers

  • Deodorant

  • Razor and razor blades

  • Chapstick

  • Dry shampoo powder

  • Bar sunscreen

  • Travel size Kleenex

  • Bar shampoo, conditioner, and soap, I got a bar version of these items since they will last longer and will not count towards my liquid allowance on flights

  • Prescription medications

  • Acetaminophen, Ibuprofen, and day/night cold medicine

  • Wrinkle release spray, travel size

  • Bar lotion

  • Laundry soap bar, I got this so that I can wash individual items of clothing along the way

  • Laundry detergent sheets, I am bringing these because they too do not count towards my liquids allowance and are small and easy to pack and use for doing loads of laundry


Miscellaneous

  • Passport

  • 1 small card wallet

  • 1 small coin purse, a lot of other currencies are more coin heavy and I have found it easier to have a separate coin purse for cash and coins

  • International drivers license, this is not necessary everywhere, but I have so many unknowns it was better to have it just in case

  • 2 passport photos, these will be for any visas I may need along the way. Since I only have two, I will probably need to have more taken along the way

  • Covid vaccination card

  • Printed insurance card, since I will be gone for so long I purchased travel insurance through SafetyWing

  • 4 small backpack locks, these can be used for when I leave my bag at a hostel or during travel

  • Travel clothesline

  • Masks

  • 4 Covid tests

  • Dryer sheets

  • Empty Ziplock bags

  • Microfiber towel, these types of towels are great because they fold up small and can be used for both showering and as a beach towel

  • Notebook, pencil, and pens

  • 1 waterproof smartphone pouch, I used this for the first time in Puerto Rico and it was great for being able to take my phone with me into the water and still take photos

  • Liquid IV packets, this was a last minute addition I added because they are small packets and will be useful if I am ever dehydrated or sick and will help me hydrate faster

Quick Packing Tips

One packing tip that I never see on other people’s packing lists, but highly recommend, is to bring dryer sheets. When I travel, especially for longer periods of time, I put dryer sheets in my packing cubes containing my clothes as well as some extras stashed in a bag so I can periodically change them out. I have found that by doing this my clothes and bag stay smelling fresh longer and it prevents any potential musty smells from forming. Another good thing to have when traveling are packing cubes. I find using packing cubes and other small zip up bags helps keep me organized and makes it easier to repack my bag faster and more efficiently.


This is a long list and not all of it may apply for shorter trips, however, if you’ve made it this far, I hope that at least some of it can help you on your travels!


“If you are waiting for someone to travel with you,

you may end up waiting a lifetime!”

- Anonymous




151 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hozzászólások


bottom of page